5 Books To Get You Through January

I hear you, it’s going to take way more than five books to get you through January. But honestly, with books like the five I’m about to list, you can check right out of your life for a little while and literally, laugh out loud. January is one seriously gloomy month; the sky is grey, people are miserable and there’s barely a bean of humour to be found.

Now, courtesy of saying a fairly big, fat adios to time spent wasting time on social media lately, I’m logging in so much less these days and honestly, it’s the most refreshing thing I’ve done in years. It’s also amazing how much extra time you find yourself with when you quit the mindless scrolling through your Twitter & Facebook feeds. But this is a story for another blog post. My point? Well lately I’ve spent even more time reading than normal and I can 100% swear on one thing to get you through a gloomy January; curling up with a book (with endless tea and chocolate of course).

SO here are my top laugh-out-loud reads for you…

Unsticky – Sarra Manning

This book is honestly one of my favourite ever reads (I think I must have read it about five or six times?) It’s literally one of those books you cannot put down. If you love fashion, art and romance (all from a very self-deprecating and real angle from the heroine) and with (of course) a splash of romance, then trust me this is the book to escape into this month. Plenty of glamour, plenty of humour and a must-read.

The Official Blurb

Money makes the world go round – that’s what twenty-something Grace Reeves is learning. Stuck in a grind where everyone’s ahead apart from her, she’s partied out, disillusioned, and massively in debt. If she’s dumped by another rock-band wannabe, squashed by anyone else at her cut-throat fashion job, or chased by any more bailiffs, Grace suspects she’ll fall apart…So when older, sexy and above all, wealthy art-dealer Vaughn appears, she’s intrigued against her will. Could she handle being a sugar daddy’s arm candy? Soon Grace is thrown into a world of money and privilege, at Vaughn’s beck and call in return for thousands of pounds in luxurious gifts, priceless clothes – and cash. Where’s the link between acting the trophy girlfriend, and selling yourself for money?And more importantly: whatever happened to love?

The List – Joanna Bolouri

If you want some serious laughs and naughty humour, this is another book I think I devoured in less than two days (I’d have got through it sooner if I hadn’t had to go to work). Our heroine decides to throw caution to the wind in this book and embark on a, well, series of somewhat steamy challenges. With a Bridget Jones feel to it, if you need some light-hearted reading and dash of humour with romance, you’ve got to read this book!

The Official Blurb

Phoebe Henderson may be single but she sure doesn’t feel fabulous. Faced with a new year but no new love, Phoebe concocts a different kind of resolution: The List. Ten things she’s always wanted to do in bed but has never had the chance (or the courage!) to try. A bucket list for between the sheets. One year of pleasure, no strings attached. Simple, right? Factor in meddlesome colleagues, friends with benefits, getting frisky al fresco and maybe, possibly, true love and Phoebe’s got her work cut out for her.A hysterically funny read, the naughtiest rom com you will read this year! Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes and Bridget Jones.

The Most Wonderful Time Of The Year – Joanna Bolouri

Ok so this book is one for those who aren’t quite ready to let go of the Christmas-themed reading just yet. I personally see no issue with jamming in just a few more Xmassy books in January (and have been known to read festive books as early as September…) But anyway. It may be set in the lead up to Christmas but this is a another fabulously well-written and hilarious read from Joanna Bolouri, with another very loveable heroine, laugh-out-loud exploits from a crazy family and epic love story. It’ll leave you feeling warm and happy and get you laughing in the first few pages.

The Official Blurb

Emily is so glad that she lives far away from her judgemental, interfering family – 411 miles away to be exact! But with plans afoot for them to meet her boyfriend, Robert, she has to psyche herself up for meeting to take place. So when the relationship suddenly falls apart, Emily is frustrated, especially as she’s talked up her handsome, loving boyfriend. Enter Evan: her twenty-something neighbour, with his penchant for flirting, loud music and even louder sex. She can make this work. Or can she??

You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me – Sara Manning

Another Sarra Manning novel (but she just writes so wonderfully). This book will draw you right in as you join Neve Slater as she battles with her weight and her heart and a brand new, unexpected romance. This is another book that I’ve read numerous time and it really is heart-warming and heartening and funny all at the same time – you NEED to read it. It’s all about letting go and that’s just what we all need a dose of in January I think.

The Official Blurb

Sweet, bookish Neve Slater always plays by the rules. And the number one rule is that good-natured fat girls like her don’t get guys like gorgeous, handsome William, heir to Neve’s heart since university. But William’s been in LA for three years, and Neve’s been slimming down and re-inventing herself so that when he returns, he’ll fall head over heels in love with the new, improved her.So she’s not that interested in other men. Until her sister Celia points out that if Neve wants William to think she’s an experienced love-goddess and not the fumbling, awkward girl he left behind, then she’d better get some, well, experience.What Neve needs is someone to show her the ropes, someone like Celia’s colleague Max. Wicked, shallow, sexy Max. And since he’s such a man-slut, and so not Neve’s type, she certainly won’t fall for him. Because William is the man for her… right?

Somewhere between losing weight and losing her inhibitions, Neve’s lost her heart – but to who?

Girl On The Run – Jane Costello

This is the perfect read for anyone who is failing miserably at the new years diet or health kick, and wants to laugh out loud alongside someone who is also missioning her way through, wait for it, running. A funny and relatable read, you DO NOT have to be interested in running to love this book and you won’t want to put it down. Who knew joining a running club could be so much fun?

The Official Blurb

He’s a real catch…if only she could catch him up. Abby Rogers has been on health kicks before – they involve eating one blueberry muffin for breakfast instead of two. But since starting her own business, after watching one too many episodes of The Apprentice, the 28-year-old’s waistline has taken even more of a back seat than her long-neglected love life. When Abby is encouraged to join her sporty best friend’s running club – by none other than its gorgeous new captain – she finds a mysterious compulsion to exercise. Sadly, her first session doesn’t go to plan. Between the obscenely unflattering pink leggings, and the fact that her lungs feel as though they’ve been set on fire, she vows never to return. Then her colleague Heidi turns up at works and makes a devastating announcement, one that will change her life – and Abby’s – forever.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.